How to Watch Attack on Titan Series, OVA, Movies in Order

Since first airing in 2013, Attack on Titan has become one of the biggest action series in anime history. Like all huge titles, the series has spawned a selection of side stories and scenes that you might miss if you only watch the TV series. If you haven’t got weeks to spare, we’ve put together the best Attack on Titan watch order that ensures you don’t miss a thing.

Related: Is Attack on Titan Good or Worth Watching? Review for New Viewers

All Attack on Titan Anime Content

Before we start, here is a list of all the notable anime content created for Attack on Titan:



Release Year

Attack on Titan Season 1 TV Series 2013
Ilse’s Notebook OVA 2013
The Sudden Visitor OVA 2014
Distress OVA 2014
Attack on Titan: Crimson Bow and Arrow Movie 2014
Attack on Titan: No Regrets OVA 2014-15
Attack on Titan: Wings of Freedom Movie 2015
Attack on Titan: Junior High TV Series 2015
Attack on Titan Season 2 TV Series 2017
Attack on Titan: Lost Girls (Wall Sina, Goodbye & Lost in the Cruel World) OVA 2017-18
Attack on Titan: The Roar of Awakening Movie 2018
Attack on Titan Season 3 (& Part 2) TV Series 2018-19
Attack on Titan: Chronicle Movie 2020
Attack on Titan The Final Season (& Parts 2 & 3) TV Series 2020-23

You may be pleased to hear that you don’t need to watch all of this content for the full Attack on Titan experience.

First of all, all the movies above are recaps of previous episodes. While this might sound good to those who wish to catch up, much of Attack on Titan’s appeal is found in the small details that these movies can miss, so they’re generally not recommended.

Another part of this list that can be omitted is Attack on Titan: Junior High. This series is a chibi-style spin-off that parodies the main story in a high-school comedy.

The reception to Junior High was mixed and while it can be a fun watch for Attack on Titan fans, it’s definitely not canon and can be skipped.

These omissions leave us with the four TV seasons and a handful of OVAs that have been released throughout the years. While the TV seasons alone are enough, for a full experience, you might want to watch the OVAs, also.

Related: Anime Like Attack on Titan To Watch After Season 4

The Best Attack on Titan Watch Order

With all the above in mind, here is the best Attack on Titan watch order that ensures you don’t miss a moment:

  1. Attack on Titan Season 1 (TV Series)
  2. Ilse’s Notebook (OVA)
  3. The Sudden Visitor (OVA)
  4. Distress (OVA)
  5. Attack on Titan: No Regrets (OVA)
  6. Attack on Titan Season 2 (TV Series)
  7. Attack on Titan: Lost Girls (Wall Sina, Goodbye) (OVA)
  8. Attack on Titan Season 3 Part 1 (TV Series)
  9. Attack on Titan: Lost Girls (Lost in the Cruel World) (OVA)
  10. Attack on Titan Season 3 Part 2 (TV Series)
  11. Attack on Titan The Final Season (TV Series)

The best way to watch the Attack on Titan TV series is the order of release, with a few exceptions.

There’s nothing that should be skipped in the TV series – Attack on Titan’s foreshadowing is so strong that you’ll want to make sure you take it all in on the way to the end.

The OVAs, generally released as bonus DVDs alongside manga volumes, provide a bit of extra context to characters and events. While not crucial to understanding the story, they do help to shine a light on some of the story’s other cast and side plots.

Do I Need to Watch the Attack on Titan Movies?

No, you don’t need to watch the Attack on Titan movies.

The Attack on Titan anime movies are all recaps of events in the TV series. Crimson Bow and Arrow and The Wings of Freedom recap the first and second halves of season 1. The other two movies recap seasons 2 and 3 respectively

The recap movies are largely produced to help new fans catch up with the series quickly before the new season airs on TV. However, some details and nuances are missed, and the movies are largely criticized by those who watched the anime beforehand.

There is also a live-action Attack on Titan movie, released in 2015. This Japanese movie deviates significantly from the source material and isn’t considered part of the manga and anime’s storyline.

Are the Attack on Titan OVAs Worth Watching?

Yes, if you have time and access, you should definitely watch the Attack on Titan OVAs.

The Attack on Titan Original Video Animations (OVAs) were all produced as extras to accompany sales of anime DVDs or limited-edition manga. Some are based on existing stories not covered in the anime or are original stories created to accompany the anime’s story.

The first three OVAs – Ilse’s Notebook, The Sudden Visitorand Distress – are sometimes referred to collectively as “the OVAs”, even though more have since been released.

The first two take place during the gap between episodes 3 and 4 of the anime. However, given their content, it’s recommended to watch all three after finishing season 1. By that time, you’ll understand some of the secrets behind the events that unfold.

Attack on Titan: No Regrets covers Levi’s backstory and is based on a visual novel of the same name. It provides some more context to the much-loved side character and also the world as a whole.

Attack on Titan: Lost Girls is based on a spin-off novel and follows Annie and Mikasa in largely separate stories. Mikasa’s story in episode 3 (Lost in the Cruel World) contains some minor spoilers for the first half of season 3, but Annie’s story (Wall Sina, Goodbye) can be watched before the third season.

each Attack on Titan OVA has been well-received by fans of the series. While they are not crucial parts of the story, they offer an insight into lesser-explored characters or plot details that make the series richer.

We hope this watch order guide will help you get the absolute most out of your Attack on Titan journey!

Related: The Best Action Anime with a Badass Female Lead


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.